Postby avantibill on Sun 4/Jan/09 7:59pm

XCrider wrote: Hey Guys

Nice photos, are most of these taking with a SLR cameras, reason being im looking at getting a SLR camera and i have never used one before. So just after some pointers on what makes them different from a normal digital camera and are they hard to figure out how to use. My current camera is just point and shoot but from what i understand a SLR camera is all manually focused and what not to get the best picture. Any brands to look for in particular.

Chuurs

My Panasonic FZ8 is NOT a DSLR but it has all the manual controls. (has auto as well) and 12X zoom. Main advantage of this is that it is relatively compact (compared to DSLRs) and has most of the functions of a DSLR without having to invest in telephoto and wide angle lenses.

The biggest drawback of my camera is the small size of the CCD, which means it is more prone to noise in low light conditions. Point and Shoot cameras can take amazing pics, but in an extreme conditions, their limitations show up.

My older Kodak P&S was handy as it was small enough to carry and take pics while riding my bike at the same time. It is not possible with my current camera.

I hope this helps you
avantibill
"Dunedin - It's highly rated!"
Member for: 16 years 10 months

Postby TheRealHotKarl on Sun 4/Jan/09 8:01pm

My dSLR has an auto setting as well, it's just never used because Manual is better to get really nice colours etc.
TheRealHotKarl
Member for: 14 years 7 months

Postby radical_edward on Sun 4/Jan/09 8:25pm

If anything, point and shoots take BETTER snapshots on auto. My in laws have a new ixus, and it does perfect fill flash when a subject is back lit. If you want graat photos just by hitting a button, then a compact is for you.

If you want to make the jump to a higher level of photography then the light gathering ability and ease of control of a dSLR is a must.