Which Towbar Rack Should I Get?

Postby fizzychicken on Fri 6/Jan/12 9:37am

Hi all!

my old car had a roof rack and all was good! my new car does not have a roof rack but has a tow bar so I am planning to get a towbar fork-style rack. I have found a few options and would like anyones advice/recommendation as I have never used one before.

My Bikes;

As you can see my old enduro has one of those stupid frames that means I will have to bungee it up to secure it to any rack.
So far these are the options I have found;

http://www.torpedo7.co.nz/products/T7CATNN48/title/torpedo7-4-bike-rack
This one is very cheap and has some positive reviews, but it doesnt appear to have foam on the main post and people have mentioned that the arms dont appear secure. It cannot be folded.

http://www.bikebarn.co.nz/Product/CB-698A-3/ZAPP_2-3_Bike_Rack_-_Silver
looks a decent size, costs a bit more but does come with plenty of bungee cords. image gives the impression that they are not too confident of the stability as it is also strapped to the boot (I have a hatch back style boot which does not have a metal frame above the rear glass window so I would prefer to avoid any strap mechanism to the boot)

http://www.hedgehog.co.nz/products/roam-fixed-arm-3-bike-rack.html
bit more expensive but looks like a good shape and has foam support too.
http://www.hedgehog.co.nz/products/roam-folding-3-bike-rack.html
The folding version of the above rack, costs more.

So I guess I need to decide if it is worths pending th extra money ona folding arm, or if they all do the same job at the end of the day. Does anybody own any of these racks? or can anyone recommend one I don't know about?

Many thanks for your time.

Fizzy.
fizzychicken
Member for: 5 years 9 months

Re: Which Towbar Rack Should I Get?

Postby PeloNZ on Fri 6/Jan/12 9:43am

I am happy with my T7 4 bike rack. The arms can be folded vertically, if you can be bothered unbolting then rebolting them.