Reign 2 V Trance X1

Postby sarah104 on Tue 27/Mar/12 5:16pm

Hi

I am new to the New Zealand mountain bike scene but spent abit of time downhilling in Fernie, Canada. Keen to keep downhilling and also getting into more trail riding...did the bridge to knowhere trail recently and it was awesome! So pretty much keen to buy 1 bike that can do everything.

So...been looking into the Reign 2 and the Trance X1 and they both look awesome... just wondering if anyone has any experience and preference / advice on what they would recommend?

Thanks so much!

Sarah
sarah104
Member for: 5 years 6 months

Re: Reign 2 V Trance X1

Postby jo on Tue 27/Mar/12 6:32pm

Depends if you're more at the DH/All Mtn end of the riding spectrum or the trail end :ib:
If you're going to regularly need 6" of travel, go the Reign. If not, the Trance is a mighty fine bicycle.
jo
"Windy"
Member for: 14 years 4 months

Postby wachtourak on Tue 27/Mar/12 6:41pm

:withstupid:

I think the Reign is a better all-rounder however, I like smashing the downs but want to be able to ride to the top and I'd go a Reign for sure. Seems like a decent spec for the money.

Kona Tanuki Deluxe would be another option, for same price as the Reign you get a 10SP Deore/SLX/XT Drivetrain and Easton wheels, better brakes, comparable forks etc...
wachtourak
"IMDABES"
Member for: 14 years 10 months

Postby wuffy on Tue 27/Mar/12 7:00pm

But you'd be getting an inferior performing platform both and down so its a bit of a tradeoff.
wuffy
Member for: 8 years 5 months

Postby mr splodge on Tue 27/Mar/12 8:33pm

I recently bought a Reign 1. The Kona Tenuki Delux was on my shortlist but I was discouraged by the own-brand proprietry rear shock (amongst other things). It's probably fine but you never know how long, and in how many places you'll be able to get replacement seals etc.