Cabin's Singlespeed Champs Report

Postby Cabin on Mon 28/Apr/08 3:26pm

Pretty much as soon as heard about the SS champs I was in. Any event that is going to be so much fun, without any seriousness (well, not too much) has to go on the calendar. Now it's not like I am a SS rookie. No no. I spend countless hours on my sweet chrome Panther BMX as a kid. I've got heaps of experience (?!).

First job was get a bike. 2nd job, get an outfit. After the Gary Fisher Rig 29'er showed up resplendent in beige with a brown saddle there really was no choice on the outfit. The action apparel guys came up with the sweet (?) beige brigade replica skinsuit. Matching beige walk socks and retro Smith Moab's. Mesh gloves and a genuine fluoro orange Pro helmet complete with safety stickers topped it all off.

As any real Singlespeeder would do I went through a rigorous and careful gear selection process. Raced bike at a club race stock and figured it was sweet. Then proceeded to get dropped by Nic when we were riding to work so clearly I needed a bigger gear (because commuting in dead flat Palmie sooooo replicates the forest?!).

So a 32 x 16 it was - on a 29'er. Clearly it wasn't a smart move, but I figured if I could push that then I'd win. Classic Tuckie logic *  Gaz from N-zo said "oh, that's an, um, manly gear." That was nice of him, coz in my outfit I was looking anything but manly. Fronting up at the start it probably was something of a site. Overhearing children saying "Mummy, why is that man wearing funny clothes" proved the youth of today aren't stupid at all.

Race time, and plenty of fast looking boys in normal looking cycling clothing took the long Le Man start fairly quickly. Apparently with my XTERRA form I was favourite in the run start, but cruised in a bit behind because a) Running in cycling shoes is stupid. And b) I was scared striding out might result is busting out of the skinsuit.