Re: Bike Mechanics Impart Their Wisdom On Vorb

Postby Dr. Fuentes on Mon 27/Aug/12 7:17pm

dented wrote:Seem to remember that Hayes were backwards to everything else, or something. One of the bike mechanics will likely correct this if Im wrong

I'm not a bike mechanic, if that helps, but you're correct - I had a set of Hayes brakes, and took them back :thumbsup:
Dr. Fuentes
Member for: 10 years 7 months

Postby Simonius_Titius on Mon 27/Aug/12 7:17pm

Less toe-in. :p
Simonius_Titius
"The truth will set you free. But first, it will piss you off. - Gloria Steinem"
Member for: 12 years 3 months

Postby great uncle bulgaria on Mon 27/Aug/12 7:39pm

thelivo wrote:
Oli wrote:
shmoodiver wrote:throw a ziptie under the back of the pad for a spot of toe in goodness. ;)
Nah maing, what is this the 1960s? That just makes modern brakes feel mushy until the pads wear crookedly. Always set them up dead flush - if they squeak it's because there's shit on the rim. ;)

I thought toe in was still in Vogue. An i wasn't even born in the 1960's :blush:

dual pivot http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... ke-service
no toe

canti http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... ke-service
toe if squeals

V http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... brake-type
toe if squeals

FWIW
great uncle bulgaria
""misunderstood and persecuted""
Member for: 11 years 3 months

Postby Oli on Mon 27/Aug/12 7:52pm

great uncle bulgaria wrote:
thelivo wrote:
Oli wrote:
shmoodiver wrote:throw a ziptie under the back of the pad for a spot of toe in goodness. ;)
Nah maing, what is this the 1960s? That just makes modern brakes feel mushy until the pads wear crookedly. Always set them up dead flush - if they squeak it's because there's shit on the rim. ;)

I thought toe in was still in Vogue. An i wasn't even born in the 1960's :blush:

no toe

toe if squeals

toe if squeals

FWIW